Sportress of Blogitude

Deshaun Watson, Kyler Murray head up ‘Madden 21’ virtual Pro Bowl festivities

There will be no Pro Bowl this year to celebrate the best NFL players from the 2020 season due to the ongoing coronavirus pandemic, at least in its usual format.

Granted, the absence of the glorified exhibition that typically lacks any semblance of fanfare, hype or even rudimentary interest likely won’t move the meter much among NFL fans.

However, EA Sports will oversee a virtual Pro Bowl featuring some of the NFL’s biggest stars participating in a “Madden 21” extravaganza to replace the Pro Bowl.

The official Twitter account of “Madden 21” announced Friday morning that Houston Texans quarterback Deshaun Watson and Arizona Cardinals signal-caller Kyler Murray will headline the “star-studded Pro Bowl: The Madden NFL 21 Edition.”

EA Sports issued a press release this week, per Bleacher Report, that details how Watson and Murray will “lead two teams of fellow NFL stars and celebrities going head-to-head in Madden NFL 21 with the official AFC and NFC all-star rosters.”

Further, “Pro Bowl: The Madden NFL 21 Edition” will feature “quarter-by-quarter AFC vs. NFC showdown with player and celebrity reactions as they compete in Madden NFL 21 from their homes.”

The entire takeover of the Pro Bowl by EA Sports and the virtual games that will highlight the festivities were originally announced in November.

Per, the entire event will feature “a week-long series of matchups featuring celebrities, NFL Legends, current players, and streamers playing as the official Pro Bowl rosters in ‘Madden NFL 21.’ These matchups will culminate in an action-packed virtual Pro Bowl game played with 2021 Pro Bowl players facing off within ‘Madden NFL 21.'”

Along with the virtual Pro Bowl events, NFL, ESPN and ABC will also provide related content leading up to the traditional Pro Bowl game day, which is Jan. 31.

“Pro Bowl: The Madden NFL 21 Edition” will air on NFL Network and the league’s social channels as well as EA Madden NFL on Twitch on Jan. 31 at 5 p.m. ET.