NBA: Draymond Green committed lane violation, foul on last possession of regulation
Game 1 of the NBA Finals proved to be another classic between the Cleveland Cavaliers and Golden State Warriors. There’s no doubt the the Warriors’ 124–14 overtime victory on Thursday night is up there with the top five Finals showdowns between these two teams.
Despite how good Game 1 was, it didn’t come without controversy. The referees have been under fire due to an overturned charging call on Kevin Durant involving LeBron James with less than a minute in the game.
The reversed charge call wasn’t the officials’ only mistake, as it seems they missed a lane violation by Draymond Green on George Hill’s second free throw attempt, not to mention an earlier foul by the Warriors star, according to the NBA’s “Last Two Minute Report” from Game 1.
“The league said Green committed a lane violation by entering into the paint to establish rebounding position prior to George Hill releasing the second of two free throw attempts with 4.7 seconds remaining.
“The league also said Green should have been called for a foul with 12.1 seconds to go for grabbing LeBron James’ arm and affecting his freedom of movement,” via ESPN. “That contact preceded James’ pass to Hill that led to Klay Thompson fouling the Cavs point guard and putting him on the line.”
League also said Draymond Green should've been called for lane violation on Hill's missed free throw pic.twitter.com/6OIZbr9VaZ
— Joe Vardon (@joevardon) June 1, 2018
In the end, the mental blunder by J.R. Smith after Hill’s missed free throw should have never happened. If Green gets tagged with a lane violation, Hill would have received another chance to knock down the go-ahead free throw — giving the Warriors only 4.7 seconds to go full-court and get a shot off for the win.