Sportress of Blogitude

Steelers announce inaugural 27-member class of Hall of Honor

The Pittsburgh Steelers are without question among the most iconic franchises in NFL history. And now, the organization finally has the means to honor Steelers greats from its storied past.

The Steelers on Tuesday formally introduced the inaugural, 27-member class of the Steelers’ Hall of Honor during a ceremony at PNC Champions Club at Heinz Field. The class features former players, coaches and executives who have played an integral role in maintaining the Steelers’ organizational excellence over its 84-year history.

The inaugural class of the Hall of Honor, which boasts some of the NFL’s biggest legends, is as follows.

“Some people would say it was a long time coming, and maybe overdue,” said Rooney, via “It’s a recognition that we are so fortunate to have so many great players down through the years, coaches and other members of the organization. They aren’t all going to be able to be recognized in Canton. This is our way of saying these guys deserve to be recognized.

“We fortunately have a long list of players who can be considered and will be considered. It was tough to narrow that list down and select the four that are added to the group from Canton this year. I know for the next few years at least it’s going to be tough to keep picking and limiting ourselves to two or four a year. We really wanted to get started and recognize a lot of great players and coaches. You think of Dick Hoak and all of the years he spent in the organization. People like that deserve to be recognized and that is why it is so exciting to do this.”

Future Hall of Honor classes will be limited to between two and four members, something Rooney said will be “tough” to do, as potential honorees include Hines Ward and Bill Cowher, among countless others.

The inaugural class will be formally inducted during a ceremony on Alumni Weekend (Nov. 25-26). It then will be honored in a halftime ceremony that Sunday during the Steelers’ game at Heinz Field against the Green Bay Packers.