Sportress of Blogitude

Yankees to retire Derek Jeter’s No. 2 next season


In what was for all intents and purposes a foregone conclusion, the New York Yankees on Tuesday announced the organization will retire Derek Jeter’s No. 2 next season.

The jersey retirement ceremony and Jeter’s official enshrinement in Monument Park will be held at Yankee Stadium on Sunday, May 14.

The Players’ Tribune, which Jeter founded shortly after his retirement, tweeted out a congratulatory message to “The Captain” as well.

The retirement of Jeter’s No. 2 means no Yankees player will ever be given a single-digit number jersey again. As noted by Hardball Talk, here are all the single-digit jersey numbers the Yankees previously have retired:

1 Billy Martin
3 Babe Ruth
4 Lou Gehrig
5 Joe DiMaggio
6 Joe Torre
7 Mickey Mantle
8 Yogi Berra
8 Bill Dickey
9 Roger Maris
10 Phil Rizzuto

Eleven double-digit-numbered jerseys have also been been retired by the Yankees.

Jeter without question is one of the greatest players even to don the Yankees’ revered pinstripes. And now, next season, he will deservedly join the ranks of Ruth, Gehrig, DiMaggio, Mantle, Berra and the other Yankees greats who have been honored by the franchise.