Sportress of Blogitude

Jonathan Papelbon’s no-trade list includes 17 teams


Jonathan Papelbon’s brief tenure with the Washington Nationals came to an end when he went after Bryce Harper and locked his hands around the superstar’s neck during a dugout confrontation late last season. But if the Nationals hope to move the enigmatic closer, it will require some serious work to find a team with which Papelbon will agree to play.

Reports indicate that Papelbon’s no-trade clause features a whopping 17 teams: Arizona Diamondbacks, Baltimore Orioles, Cleveland Indians, Colorado Rockies, Chicago White Sox, Detroit Tigers, Los Angeles Dodgers, Miami Marlins, Milwaukee Brewers, Minnesota Twins, New York Yankees, Oakland Athletics, Philadelphia Phillies, Pittsburgh Pirates, San Francisco Giants, Texas Rangers and Toronto Blue Jays.

The strict restrictions on the teams Washington can trade Papelbon to of course severely hampers their ability to make a trade that benefits the organization.

It’s worth noting that Papelbon’s no-trade clause last season included the Nationals, something that helped the pitcher force the team to agree to some of his demands in order to agree to the eventual trade, which included inserting him as the team’s de facto closer over Drew Storen and restructuring his contact.

In any event, should the Nationals figure out a way to trade Papelbon to one of the 12 remaining teams — or one of the 17 on his list, given some presumed negotiating — he is due $11 million in the final year of his contract next season.

(image via YouTube)