Sportress of Blogitude

College Football

Tim Tebow A Willing Participant In The Breaking Of The Second Commandment

Blasphemer! How can Tim Tebow stand idly by and allow such a thing to happen? According to a report on, Tim Tebow will be honored by his alma mater, the University of Florida, with a statue which will be erected on the west side of Ben Hill Griffin Stadium and is set to be unveiled for idolatry during the Gators’ spring game on April 9th. Commandment breakers!

For those of you not as well-versed in Old Testament studies as yours truly, the Second Commandment is of course: “You shall not make for yourself an image in the form of anything in heaven above or on the earth beneath or in the waters below. You shall not bow down to them or worship them; for I, the LORD your God, am a jealous God, punishing the children for the sin of the parents to the third and fourth generation of those who hate me, but showing love to a thousand generations of those who love me and keep my commandments. (Exodus 20:4-6)

I don’t know, man, but if you ask me, the erecting of a statue sure seems like a total violation of the above Biblical edict. I suppose we shouldn’t blame Tebow for this, but given his Christ-like status in Gainesville and the adoration he receives in that neck of the woods, there is little doubt that the statue will not only be revered, it is highly likely that it will be worshiped. Not that this is Tebow’s fault, but one would think he might have stepped in and prevented the creation of this graven image. Ah, but who am I to say one way or another. Judge not lest ye be judged.

I suppose I should mention that not only will Tim Tebow be honored by the university with a statue, fellow Heisman Trophy winners who attended the University of Florida will also be honored with their own iconic sculptures: Steve Spurrier (1966) and Danny Wuerffel (1996). Spurrier could be a wild card but I’m guessing we won’t have to worry about devotees genuflecting in front of  Wuerffel’s statue anytime in the near future.

Florida to honor Heisman winners Tebow, Wuerffel, Spurrier []