Sportress of Blogitude

728×90 Ad Unit

How in the heck did the umpire call out Justin Morneau on this play? (video)

justin-morneau

During the first inning of the Minnesota Twins’ 10-4 loss to the New York Yankees at Target Field on Monday night, umpire Corey Blaser ruled that the ball beat Justin Morneau to first first base on a play that under no uncertain terms should the Twins first baseman have been called out.

Blaser, who apparently is a fourth-year umpire, totally botched the ball, as even in real time it’s abundantly clear that Morneau’s foot touches the bag long before the relay from third baseman David Adams reaches Lyle Overbay’s glove.

Wow. Unbelievable. Morneau, to no avail, unsuccessfully pleaded his case — no surprise there — before Twins skipper Ron Gardenhire took to the field, somehow managing to avoid ejection while arguing the absurdly incorrect call.

If these kind of harebrained calls continue, baseball fans will move on from pleading for instant replay and go straight to demanding robot umpires. Which would be kinda cool when you think about it.

[Yahoo!, image via @cjzero]

Comments